Friday, October 9, 2026 19 new in the last 24 hours · 934 stories compared

DHS proposes $70,000 fee for international students to work in the US

The Department of Homeland Security on Wednesday proposed a rule requiring colleges to pay a $70,000 fee before international students on F-1 visas can work under the Optional Practical Training program, with a $30,000 renewal fee that could push total costs to $100,000 for some STEM graduates.

By The Lumen desk · Compared by the Lumen AI engine · Oct 9, 2026 · 3 min read
Share Save
From The Lumen
Your brand, here.Reach readers who see every side of the story.Advertise with us
What we know
1 DHS proposed a $70,000 fee for international students on F-1 visas to participate in the Optional Practical Training (OPT) work program, announced Wednesday.
2 Colleges could also face a $30,000 renewal fee, bringing total costs up to $100,000 for some students, according to Fortune, The Washington Post, Nature and others.
3 DHS described the OPT program as a 'pipeline for cheap foreign labor,' according to Fox News, New York Post, Newsmax and Independent Journal Review.
4 Fortune reported that new foreign student enrollment has fallen 17%, though the basis for this figure is not detailed in the supplied material.

The Trump administration has proposed charging a $70,000 fee for international students to participate in the Optional Practical Training (OPT) program, which allows F-1 visa holders to work temporarily in the United States in jobs related to their field of study, according to multiple outlets including the Associated Press, Reuters and PBS NewsHour. The Department of Homeland Security announced the proposed rule on Wednesday, Deseret News and The Washington Times reported.

From The Lumen · story continues below
Our mission
One story. Every side. You decide what to make of it.
Join free

Under the proposal, colleges and universities would be required to pay the $70,000 fee for each international student before recommending them for OPT, according to Deseret News. Fortune and Independent Journal Review reported that schools would also face a $30,000 renewal fee, which could bring total costs to as much as $100,000 for some students, particularly those in STEM fields — a figure also cited by The Washington Post and Nature.

DHS described the OPT program as a 'pipeline for cheap foreign labor' into the U.S. workforce, according to Fox News, New York Post, Newsmax and Independent Journal Review. Fox News and New York Post both reported that the agency said the fee is intended to reduce the flow of such labor into the country.

Deseret News noted that the proposal comes as many American colleges and universities face financial strain from declining enrollments, public skepticism about the value of higher education, and federal research funding cuts, adding that the new fees could further raise their operating costs. The outlet also described the action as part of a series of Trump administration measures targeting foreign students at U.S. colleges over the past couple of years. The Straits Times similarly placed the proposal within the administration's broader efforts targeting foreign visa holders.

Fortune reported that new foreign enrollment has fallen 17%, though it did not specify over what period or compared with what baseline. Nature, a center-leaning outlet, cited policy specialists as saying the proposed rule would choke off a crucial pipeline of STEM talent — a characterization not reported elsewhere in the supplied material.

How the coverage differed

Left-leaning outlets, including Time, USA Today, PBS NewsHour, Politico and the Associated Press, largely reported the proposal in neutral, factual terms, focusing on the $70,000 fee figure and its effect on international students and colleges. The Washington Post was among the few left-leaning outlets to cite the higher $100,000 total figure.

Right-leaning outlets, including Fox News, New York Post, Newsmax and Independent Journal Review, emphasized DHS's own characterization of the OPT program as a 'pipeline for cheap foreign labor,' a phrase that did not appear in the left-leaning headlines or summaries supplied. Deseret News, also right-leaning, provided the most detailed context, including the financial pressures facing universities and the administration's broader pattern of actions on international students.

Center outlets varied in which total figure they led with: Nature's headline cited $100,000, while Reuters, STAT, Fortune and others led with $70,000, specifying the additional $30,000 renewal fee separately. Fortune was alone among the supplied outlets in reporting the 17% drop in new foreign enrollment, a single-source claim. Nature was also the only outlet to include the characterization from unnamed 'policy specialists' that the rule would hurt the STEM talent pipeline.

What is still unclear

The supplied material does not specify when the rule might take effect, whether it has been finalized, or what process remains before implementation. It also does not clarify the exact basis or time period for Fortune's reported 17% decline in foreign enrollment, nor does it identify the 'policy specialists' cited by Nature.

How each side covered it

Left

8 outlets
  • Reported the $70,000 fee proposal in straightforward terms, per Time, USA Today and the Associated Press.
  • The Washington Post cited a potential total cost of up to $100,000 for universities.
  • Business Insider highlighted the fee's burden specifically on U.S. colleges.

“Trump administration proposes a $70,000 fee for international students to work in the U.S.” — PBS NewsHour

Center

9 outlets
  • Nature led with the $100,000 total figure and cited policy specialists warning of harm to the STEM talent pipeline.
  • Fortune reported a $30,000 renewal fee alongside the $70,000 initial fee and a 17% drop in new foreign enrollment.
  • The Straits Times and other outlets framed the move as part of a broader crackdown on foreign visa holders.

“US proposes $100,000 charge for international students to do post-graduate work” — Nature

Right

9 outlets
  • Fox News, New York Post and others emphasized DHS's description of OPT as a 'pipeline for cheap foreign labor.'
  • Independent Journal Review detailed the combined $70,000 and $30,000 fees totaling up to $100,000 for STEM graduates.
  • Deseret News provided context on financial strains facing American colleges and prior administration actions on foreign students.

“DHS proposes massive $70K fee for foreign students seeking work authorization” — New York Post

Questions readers ask

What is the Trump administration proposing for international students?

The Department of Homeland Security proposed a rule requiring colleges to pay a $70,000 fee before international students on F-1 visas can work under the Optional Practical Training (OPT) program, according to multiple outlets including the Associated Press and Reuters.

How much could the total fees reach?

With an additional $30,000 renewal fee reported by Fortune and Independent Journal Review, total costs could reach up to $100,000 for some students, particularly in STEM fields, according to The Washington Post and Nature.

Why did DHS propose this fee?

DHS said the OPT program functions as a 'pipeline for cheap foreign labor' into the U.S. workforce and that the fee is intended to reduce this flow, according to Fox News and New York Post.

What did left- and right-leaning outlets focus on?

Left-leaning outlets like PBS NewsHour and the Associated Press largely reported the $70,000 figure in neutral terms, while right-leaning outlets including Fox News and Newsmax emphasized DHS's characterization of OPT as a pipeline for cheap foreign labor.

What happens next?

The supplied material does not specify when the proposed rule might take effect or what steps remain before it could be finalized.

Sources · 26 outlet reports

Advertise with The Lumen
Put your brand in front of readers who read to the end
Talk to us about placements. advertise@thelumen.io

More in Politics

All Politics ›

Senate blocks resolution on reporting West Bank violence against Americans

Sept 30, 2026 · Balanced

RFK Jr. calls for collecting Americans' health data for AI analysis

Sept 30, 2026 · More from the left

Iran's Revolutionary Guards publish open letter urging US voters to oppose Trump policies

Sept 30, 2026 · More from the right